Using a FOREO LUNA 4 without the app
Last checked 2026-09-25.
Per FOREO's LUNA 4 manual, you cannot skip the app entirely: the LUNA 4 must be unlocked in the FOREO For You app the first time. After that its buttons switch between cleansing and massage without the app, but its 16 intensities and cleansing time are changed only in the app, which the device then remembers. The LUNA 4 go needs no app to unlock or to change its 8 intensities.
As an Amazon Associate BeautyEvidence earns from qualifying purchases.
Function by function
| FOREO LUNA 4 | FOREO LUNA 4 go | PMD Clean Pro RQ | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unlock on first use | app required: “Before first use, download the FOREO For You mobile app to unlock and register your device.” | no app step: “unlock it by holding down the + and - buttons together for 3 seconds” | no app is mentioned on PMD's page |
| Everyday cleansing | yes, after activation: buttons switch between cleansing and massage modes without the app | yes: power and +/- buttons | no app is mentioned on PMD's page |
| Change intensity | 16 levels, chosen in the app over Bluetooth; the device remembers the setting for offline use | 8 levels, chosen with the +/- buttons | not stated by the maker in the sources read |
| Change cleansing time | set in the app, up to 240 seconds; a built-in timer turns the device off | a built-in timer turns the device off; the manual does not say the duration can be changed | not stated by the maker in the sources read |
| Guided routines | 4 app-guided routines and 5 manual massages; 3 can be saved to the device | a firming massage mode with button-selected intensity | a stone side and an ActiveWarmth heat setting (PMD) |
| Warranty registration | in the app or at foreo.com/product-registration | the manual suggests the app to register; foreo.com/product-registration also works | not stated by the maker in the sources read |
| Source | FOREO LUNA 4 manual | FOREO LUNA 4 go manual (2023-08) | PMD Clean Pro RQ product page |
| Buy | Amazon → | Amazon → | Amazon → |
Kinds of claim on this page: app functions, charging, water, cleanser rules and warranty are manufacturer claims, from the manual or maker page linked in each column (read 2026-09-24); prices and sellers are from the Amazon US listings on 2026-09-25. A cell no source settles says unknown (not stated). There is no product evidence about skin results here: nothing was measured or tested.
FOREO's FAQ answers "Does LUNA 4 work without the app?" with yes, for manual use after the first unlock; this page keeps that first unlock separate so the "yes" is not read as "never needs the app". Prices: LUNA 4 $168.99, LUNA 4 go $99.00, PMD Clean Pro RQ $143.99 on 2026-09-25.
Head to head: FOREO LUNA 4 vs LUNA 4 go. Cleanser rules and charging: care and cost.