BeautyEvidence

Philips Epilator Series 8000 vs Braun Silk-épil 9 Flex

Last checked 2026-09-25.

Per Philips's manual, the Series 8000 (BRE708/00, $79.95) is a cordless wet-and-dry epilator for areas below the neck that runs up to 60 minutes after a 3-hour charge and does not work while plugged in. The Braun Silk-épil 9 Flex ($209.99) is wet and dry per Braun's support FAQ, but no Braun manual read names its model, so its runtime and areas are unknown here.

As an Amazon Associate BeautyEvidence earns from qualifying purchases.

Side by side

Philips Series 8000Braun Silk-épil 9 Flex
Price (Amazon US, 2026-09-25)$79.95$209.99
Sold byAmazon.comAmazon.com
ModelBRE708/00SES9-041 3D (listing title; the listing's model field reads P_13457, not a Braun code)
Wet or drywet and dry: suitable for both wet and dry use, including in the bath or shower (Philips manual)wet and dry: Braun's Silk-épil 9 Flex support FAQ: adapted for wet use in the shower or bath; the listing also says wet and dry
Powercordless, rechargeable; up to 60 minutes after a 3-hour charge (Philips manual); USB-A cable, no power adapter included (Amazon listing)battery powered (Amazon listing); runtime and charging time not stated for this model in any source matched to it
Works while chargingdoes not work while connected to the power outlet (Philips manual)not stated in any source matched to this model
Areas the maker namesepilator attachment below the neck only, such as legs, underarms and bikini line; never the inner or outer labia; no shaving head on the face (Philips manual)not stated in any source matched to this model
In the boxepilator head, ProGuide, pouch, USB-A cable (no adapter), instruction manual (from the listing's two box fields, which differ slightly; no maker box list was read)epilator, shaver head, trimmer comb, skin contact cap, cleaning brush, pouch (the listing's box fields; not confirmed against a maker box list)
Maker sourcePhilips manual for BRE708 and BRE717 (and 11 other BRE7xx models)Braun Silk-épil 9 Flex support page (PRID 5380)
BuyAmazon →Amazon →

Kinds of claim on this page: water use, power, areas, box contents, cautions and replacement intervals are manufacturer claims, from the manual, maker page or Amazon listing named in each cell (read 2026-09-24); prices and sellers are each listing's US buy box on 2026-09-25. A manual is used only for the models it names; anything else is unknown. There is no product evidence about pain, skin or results here: nothing was measured or tested.

Before you use either

Philips's manual lists skin conditions to avoid or discuss with a doctor: damaged, inflamed or irritated skin, varicose veins and moles; consult a doctor if you have diabetes or similar conditions (Philips manual). Braun's cautions for this model are not shown because no Braun manual read names it; read the leaflet in the box. This page makes no claim about pain or skin reactions.

The two Braun Silk-épil 9 kits compared: Silk-épil 9 Flex vs SES9-030. What each box holds and what the makers say about replacement parts: heads and ownership cost.

We tested nothing. No medical advice is given.