BeautyEvidence

1x, 5x and 10x: what each magnification shows

Last checked 2026-09-25.

Per their makers' listings, 4 of these 5 mirrors have a 10x side and 2 a 5x side; they cost $62.99 to $300.00 on Amazon US (2026-09-25). Magnification makes what you see larger, so the same mirror shows less of your face at 10x than at 5x, and less at 5x than at 1x. None of these five makers says how far from the mirror to sit, so no working distance is given here, and no magnification is ranked above another: which one helps depends on the task and your eyes.

As an Amazon Associate BeautyEvidence earns from qualifying purchases.

MirrorMagnificationSidesMirror size Working distancePrice (2026-09-25)
Conair LED vanity mirror, double-sided, 1x/10x, satin nickel1x / 10x28.5 in (21.6 cm) mirror / viewing area (the listing does not say reflective area)not stated by the maker$62.99Amazon →
Zadro Max Bright 11-inch fluorescent mirror, 10x/1x, with tray (MAXT110)10x / 1x2reflective surface 7.25 × 7.25 in (18.4 × 18.4 cm); head 9 × 9 in (22.9 × 22.9 cm)not stated by the maker$82.49Amazon →
Zadro 11-inch LED wall-mounted mirror, 10x/1x10x / 1x2reflective surface 7 × 7 in (17.8 × 17.8 cm); head 9 × 9 in (22.9 × 22.9 cm)not stated by the maker$149.99Amazon →
simplehuman Sensor Mirror, 8-inch, 5x, rose gold5x18 in (20.3 cm) round; reflective area not statednot stated by the maker$200.00Amazon →
simplehuman Sensor Mirror Trio, 8-inch, rechargeable, white1x / 5x / 10x28 in (20.3 cm) round; reflective area not statednot stated by the maker$300.00Amazon →

The first sentence is arithmetic about magnification, not a claim about any product. Sizes are as each maker states them, with cm computed at 2.54 cm per inch; where only the whole mirror face or the round diameter is stated, the table says so rather than calling it the reflective area.

Kinds of claim on this page: sizes, magnification, power and light figures are manufacturer claims, from the maker's own page or the Amazon listing named on each row (read 2026-09-24); prices and sellers are from the Amazon US listings on 2026-09-25. No maker states a working distance, so it is unknown. There is no product evidence or technology research here beyond those listings: nothing was measured or tested.

Two-sided mirrors (a magnifying side and a 1x side) are marked in the Sides column. Which one mounts on a wall and which needs an outlet: the fit and power checklist. Two named models head to head: simplehuman Sensor Mirror vs Zadro LED wall mirror.